Chronic Suicide Support
some old junk I learned in college art and on my own.. - Printable Version

+- Chronic Suicide Support (https://www.chronicsuicidesupport.com/forum)
+-- Forum: Other Stuff (https://www.chronicsuicidesupport.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Creative Outlets * (https://www.chronicsuicidesupport.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=20)
+--- Thread: some old junk I learned in college art and on my own.. (/showthread.php?tid=1149)

some old junk I learned in college art and on my own.. - unlegendary - 02-20-2010

25 yrs or so ago I studied art and was pretty darned good at portraits and dug up some old material I wanted to share.. I have nerve damage so I no longer draw, but I still think about it..
The image below, yes, my ugly mug with red eyes (no, they're not REALLY red, just blood shot on some occasions) has some lines on it to sort of illustrate a few proportions that are pretty much universal in human faces. Not all of them are there, just the ones that I thought of off hand, but if you'll notice that the lower eyelid almost always lines up with the tops of the ears, the mouth line with the bottom of the ears. The center of the eyes (pupils) line up with the outermost edges of the mouth and another lesser known proportion is how the distance between the bottom eyelid and the eyebrows is real close to the same distance from the mouth line to the bottom of the nose. Not everyones face is the same obviously and a few faces are way off proportion.. In fact, I had a friend years ago who claimed he was taller than he really was because of the proportions in his face. His eyes sat higher in his forehead than most making him appear much taller.  :o